The Dispatch 6.4.20

In this week's Dispatch:

  • AND MORE... 

Click on "Read More" Below:


 Here are the Democratic nominated candidates with all of the results reported from yesterday's election. You can download the results by clicking here or check in with Election Central for further information here

U.S. Representative, District 9 - Andy Ruff
State Senator, District 40 - Shelli Yoder
State Representative, District 60 - Tiffany Grant
State Representative, District 61 - Matt Pierce
State Representative, District 62 - Alyssa Bailey
State Representative, District 65 - Paula Staley
Judge for Circuit Court, Division 8, Seat 5 - Kara Krothe
Judge for Circuit Court, Division 2, Seat 6 - Valeri Haughton
Judge for Circuit Court, Division 1, Seat 9 - Geoff Bradley
County Auditor - Catherine Smith
County Treasurer - Jessica McClellan
County Coroner - Joani Shields
County Surveyor - Trohn Enright-Randolph
County Commissioner, District 2 - Julie Thomas
County Commissioner, District 3 - Penny Githens
County Council, At-Large - Trent Deckard, Geoff McKim, Cheryl Munson

Thank you to all of the candidates who stepped up and decided to run, especially during these these challenging times. Many thanks to the volunteers of all the campaigns, staff and volunteers for this election, as well as Clerk Nicole Browne and staff for working hard in getting out the results.

The marathon continues and we must work together in supporting each of these candidates to successfully get them to the finish line in November! 


***Please see our page with a list of ways to help with local efforts in response to COVID-19. Click here to visit the webpage.***


Volunteer for Geoff Bradley
The Geoff Bradley for Monroe County Circuit Court Judge campaign is seeking out volunteers to help phonebank on behalf of Geoff ahead of the June 2nd Democratic Primary. Phonebanking will be a crucial method to getting out the vote throughout Monroe County, since canvassing has been delayed in light of COVID-19. If you are interested in phonebanking for the campaign, please contact Nick Belyayev at (317) 914-4337 and/or [email protected].
Volunteer for Trent Deckard
The Trent Deckard for County Council At-Large campaign is seeking out volunteers to help phonebank on behalf of Trent ahead of the June 2nd Democratic Primary. Phonebanking will be a crucial method to getting out the vote throughout Monroe County, since canvassing has been delayed in light of COVID-19. If you are interested in phonebanking for the campaign, please contact Nick Belyayev at (317) 914-4337 and/or[email protected]
Volunteer for Kara Krothe
If you are interested in volunteering to help elect Kara Krothe for Judge please contact us at [email protected] or visit to sign up.
Volunteer for Cheryl Munson
Cheryl Munson needs your help as she seeks re-election to an at-large seat on the Monroe County Council! If you would be interested in phone banking for Cheryl or hosting a yard sign, please contact Olivia Reed at [email protected]!
Volunteer for Andy Ruff
Volunteer with a candidate whose 20-year record as an elected official makes it clear that Andy has been fighting for fair wages, labor rights, universal healthcare, addressing climate change, and against unjust war and corporate greed for decades. Before universal healthcare was part of the popular national discourse, Andy sponsored resolutions supporting it. Before outrage over Citizens' United was so widespread, Andy sponsored a resolution opposing it. Andy is an experienced progressive legislator who listens closely, asks hard questions, and works with people of all perspectives to get things done. Help Andy take the voice of the people of the 9th District to Washington. If you are interested in volunteering, email [email protected] or visit and sign up there.


City of Bloomington Commission Vacancies

The City of Bloomington Office of the City Clerk is accepting applications to fill vacated positions on several of the city’s commissions. Some of these vacancies, and the date the City Clerk’s office sent out press releases soliciting applicants, are listed below:

Animal Control Commission (5/9/19)

Commission on the Status of Women (10/18/19)

Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Commission (5/6/20)

Parking Commission (3/26/19, for a merchant located near metered parking)

Parking Commission (3/5/19, for a resident within a permit parking zone)

Traffic Commission (5/6/20)

These are great opportunities for city residents to be more involved in local government! To learn more about these commissions, including the mission statements, membership requirements, current membership listing and term lengths, or for online applications, go to the online City system for board and commission information known as “OnBoard” at 

Monroe County Governmental Boards and Commissions

The Monroe County Board of Commissioners invites you to apply to serve on a Board or Commission! There are immediate openings on a number of these bodies, including: Animal Management, Environmental Commission, and the Human Rights Commission. For information on each of them, see

The application is available here

If you have any questions, please contact Julie Thomas at [email protected]

*All event information is based on currently available information and may be subject to change. 


The Indiana Democratic Party has a Municipal Monday Webinar series, and recordings of each of these webinars can be found here:

Programs they have covered include:

How to File For Office (Matthew Kochevar)
Campaign Finance (Anna Foster)
Social Media 101 (Trina Thomas)
Pre-Filing Questions / Campaign Goals (Katie Doyle)
Creating A Field Plan (Adi Ben-Yehoshua)
Fundraising 101 (Katie Doyle)
Creating A Campaign Message (Phil Johnson)
Communicating with Press and Media (Phil Johnson)
Municipal Finance (Oscar Gutierrez and Trish Whitcomb)
Building an Absentee Chase Program (Adi Ben-Yehoshua)
Filing Your Pre-Primary Finance Report (Anna Foster)
How To Use Early Vote/Election Day Data In VAN (Adi Ben-Yehoshua)
City Government Offices (Portia Bailey-Bernard).

MCDP “Four Freedoms Circle” Recurring Donors

Thank you to our Four Freedoms Circle donors who contribute monthly to MCDP! To make a donation and sign up for a recurring contribution, click here

“For the Millions” donors ($25/month)
Ruth Aydt
Dion Baker
Richard Bauman & Beverly Stoeltje
Nicole Browne
Jean Capler
Susan & Doug Davis
Trent Deckard & Kyla Cox Deckard
Penny Githens
Kaisa Goodman & Nico Sigler
David G. Henry
Don & Carol-Anne Hossler
Peter Iversen & Leah Sinn Iversen
Randy Jacobs
Jeff & Kim Kehr
Jessica McClellan
Tom Miller & Beth McManus
Ashley Pirani
Eric Schmitz
Fred Schultz
Sue Sgambelluri
Jacob Simpson
William Smith
Brad & Amy Swain
Christine Talley Haseman
Julie Thomas
Denise Valkyrie
Sue Wanzer & Melanie Payne
John Zody

“New Deal” donors ($50/month)
Lorraine Merriman Farrell
John Hamilton & Dawn Johnsen
Lee Jones
Judy Sharp
Jim & Doris Sims
Catherine & Larry Smith
Catherine Stafford
Mark Stoops
Shelli Yoder & Josh Perry

“Franklin and Eleanor” donors ($75/month)
Betsy Greene
Geoff McKim

“Safeguard of Democracy” donors ($100/month)
This GOP administration’s trampling of the tenets of our democracy makes this the ideal time to become a Safeguard of Democracy donor.