The Dispatch 12/23/2021

In This Edition:

  • Upfront - Acting Chair's Notes

  • Sprint '22: Meet the Interns!

  • Herstory: MCDP Honors Monroe County Councilwoman Jennifer Crossley

  • Four Freedoms

  • More

UPFRONT - Acting Chair's Notes: With mixed emotions today, I accepted the resignation of our party chairwoman, Jennifer Crossley. Jennifer's big heart and care for our whole community is going to be missed here at HQ, but I know she is going to carry that passion right into the Monroe County Council. Jennifer and I made big plans during our time together, and you are starting to see some of those changes in our re-branding on social media, our work with the College Dems, and our preparation for 2022.

The chairs may change, but the work of the party continues.

I begin my tenure as acting chair this week, and have already begun sticking the landing on our goals. First up is the launch of our intern program with College Dems of Indiana University, which I call "Sprint '22." We have a team of, count 'em, EIGHT intrepid young folks who are giving up their Winter Break to get to work on marketing, policy, strategy, outreach, communications, and technology. I am thrilled by their energy and you will quickly see why we say "Young Gets It Done."

Secondly, I am happy to welcome outgoing CDIU President Samantha Waterman onto the MCDP leadership as Intern Coordinator. Sam is already mentoring those coming up behind her in their internship and will be a crucial link for us to recruit and train volunteers for the Primary. Welcome Sam!

As I said at the Fall Tailaferro Dinner, let us do the small things, the important things, and the real and right thing. I am going to need all of your help to pull us through, and now is the time to dust off the shoes, put on the masks, and lean in. Take a breather at the year's end here, but know that come January 1, we are getting after all of it.  - David



Meet the Interns: Over the IU Winter Break, we are happy to welcome 8 interns to help prep the MCDP for the Primary and General Elections. The "Sprint '22" team will work on branding, social media, communications, policy, and planning to help get our community ready.

We'll introduce them one by one over the next few weeks, but please welcome on:
Abigail Miller
Noah Johnson
Chance Kapase
Emma Shriberg
Hamza Abughofah
Bethany Villaruz
Sophie Suter

We are also thrilled to welcome to the team Sam Waterman, outgoing College Democrats at Indiana University president, as our Intern Coordinator. Sam will help lead and mentor our rising interns and local young Democrats as we get to work.
Welcome all!



Over 150 fellow and well-vaccinated Democrats gathered for our first formal event in 798 days since COVID interrupted our annual traditions. We took the time to hear more from one another in small reunions and conversations and laughs outside of the virtual world and "in real life." This occasion was especially poignant as we will do our best to hunker down again as Omicron fills our brand new hospital and we adapt to an evolving new normal.

We heard from MCDP leadership, Mayor Hamilton, Clerk Bolden, Councilperson Deckard and Charlotte Zietlow about our real story - how Democrats began to win here 50 years ago this year. For the full transcript, click on our Medium post here.

We also honored State Senator Mark Stoops for his years of leadership in our community with our annual Vi Taliaferro Award. Well met and well earned!

MCDP wants to thank Kyla Cox Deckard who lent her tremendous talents to help plan this event, Ashley Pirani and Jennifer Crossley for coordinating programs and fundraising, and Sam Udjak for work on our call lists. We thank the indefatigable Charlotte Zietlow and Jim Ackerman for their insights on the program, Senator Yoder and Representative Pierce for their kind words and tribute to Mark Stoops, and former State Senator Mark Stoops himself as our honoree this year for the now annual Vi Taliaferro Award.

We also thank our generous sponsors. We blew past our fundraising goal, which will empower us to make critical technological and voter outreach investments in the short term as we gear up for 2022.

Here are some pics! Have some to share? Tag #MCDP and our Fall Taliaferro Dinner Event on Facebook and social media.


On December 19, the Precinct Committee Caucus for Monroe County Council District 4 unanimously appointed Jennifer Crossley to the Monroe County Council to complete the term vacated by Eric Spoonmore. Councilwoman Crossley is the first Black Woman to serve on the Council in our county's history. Congratulations Jennifer! Check out the Grammy-award winning talents of Jennifer's husband, Justin, who put together this video tribute here.

Your New Democratic Majority on the Monroe County Council.

Councilpersons Wiltz, McKim, Deckard, Iversen and Munson welcome the new Councilwoman on board.


We will get back to Events next week. Have something coming up? Campaign launch or caucus event? Let [email protected] know!

HQ Updates

Our Landlords are using the holiday to upgrade our restroom facilities. As such, we do not have restrooms at HQ at this time. If you are looking to schedule HQ for an event, please go to [email protected] prior to scheduling. Thank you.


'Tis the Season. Your MCDP is cleaning up HQ in preparation for campaign season. As we come back from COVID-19, we are no different than any business or non-profit that shuttered for a year. If you have items below that you are willing to donate, please contact MCDP Vice Chair David Henry at [email protected] Have some ideas on what we could use? Share with David too.

Have some ideas on what we could use? Share with David too.





Thank you to our Four Freedoms Circle donors who contribute monthly to MCDP! In January 1941, President Franklin D. Roosevelt first spoke of the FOUR FREEDOMS in his state of the Union address.  He proposed four fundamental freedoms that people everywhere in the world should enjoy: Freedom of Speech, Freedom of Worship, Freedom From Want, and Freedom From Fear. Our belief in the Four Freedoms is fundamental to our identity as Democrats.  In much the same way, our sustaining donors – those who choose to support the Monroe County Democratic Party through ongoing, monthly gifts – are fundamental to the work we do every single day.  When you choose to make monthly gifts through ActBlue, our online giving portal, you provide critical support for the infrastructure, space, and staff on which we rely in all our work.

To make a donation and sign up for a recurring contribution, click here

“For the Millions” donors ($25/month)
Phil and Elaine Amerson
Ruth Aydt
Dion Baker
Sarah Bauerle Danzman
Richard Bauman & Beverly Stoeltje
Nicole Browne
Sarah Bruner
Jean Capler
Dan Combs
Cathi Crabtree
Jennifer Crossley
Trent & Kyla Cox Deckard
Susan & Doug Davis
Penny Githens
Kaisa Goodman & Nico Sigler
David G. Henry
Don & Carol-Anne Hossler
Peter Iversen & Leah Sinn Iversen
Jeff & Kim Kehr
Connie & Guy Loftman
Jessica McClellan
Apple Muncy
Ashley Pirani
Eric Schmitz
Fred Schultz
Sue Sgambelluri
William Smith
Brad & Amy Swain
Christine Talley Haseman
Julie Thomas
Sue Wanzer & Melanie Payne
Carol Wilson
John Zody

"New Deal” donors ($50/month)
Ashley Cranor
Lorraine Merriman Farrell
John Hamilton & Dawn Johnsen
Lee Jones
Angie Purdie
Judy Sharp
Jim & Doris Sims
Catherine & Larry Smith
Catherine Stafford
Mark Stoops
Shelli Yoder & Josh Perry

“Franklin and Eleanor” donors ($75/month)
Betsy Greene
Geoff McKim

Dispatch Submission?

If you have upcoming events or suggestions for topics, please email [email protected] or share them with us through the following submission form: