MCDP is proud to announce that all of our 2014 federal and state-level candidates were endorsed by the AFL-CIO as worker-friendly candidates!

Congratulations to: Bill Bailey for Congress (9th District), Jim Mann for State Rep District 46, Daymon Brodhacker for State Rep. District 60, Matt Pierce for State Rep. District 61, and Jeff Sparks for State Rep. District 62, as well as Beth White for Secretary of State, Mike Claytor for State Auditor, and Mike Boland for State Treasurer.


Federation of labor unions endorses candidates that support working families

INDIANAPOLIS — Today the Indiana State AFL-CIO, a statewide federation of labor unions representing more than 300,000 active workers, announced endorsements of candidates for the 2014 General Election.

The endorsements are based on voting records, in-person interviews and responses to a questionnaire issued to all candidates. Affiliates of the Indiana State AFL-CIO met on Friday in Indianapolis to review the information and vote on endorsements.

The following candidates were endorsed for the 2014 General Election:

Statewide Offices:
Secretary of State: Beth White (D)
State Auditor: Mike Claytor (D)
State Treasurer: Mike Boland (D)

U.S. House of Representatives:
District 1: Pete Visclosky (D) (I)
District 2: Joe Bock (D)
District 3: Justin Kuhnle (D)
District 4: John Dale (D)
District 5: Shawn Denney (D)
District 7: Andre Carson (D) (I)
District 8: Tom Spangler (D)
District 9: Bill Bailey (D)

Indiana State Senate:
District 1: Frank Mrvan (D) (I)
District 4: Karen Tallian (D) (I)
District 6: Roxanna Hanford (D)
District 15: Jack Morris (D)
District 25: Tim Lanane (D) (I)
District 27: Jake Hoog (D)
District 29: J.D. Ford (D)
District 38: Tim Skinner (D) (I)
District 41: Andy Talarzyk (D)
District 43: Rudy Howard (D)
District 45: Julie Berry (D)
District 46: Chuck Freiberger (D)
District 47: Richard Young (D) (I)
District 48: Larry Vollmer (D)
District 49: Jim Tomes (R) (I)

Indiana House of Representatives:
Indiana House of Representatives:
District 1: Linda Lawson (D) (I)
District 2: Earl Harris (D) (I)
District 3: Charlie Brown (D) (I)
District 4: Deb Porter (D)
District 6: B. Patrick Bauer (D) (I)
District 7: David Niezgodski (D) (I)
District 8: Ryan Dvorak (D) (I)
District 9: Scott Pelath (D) (I)
District 10: Chuck Moseley (D) (I)
District 11: Jim Metro (D)
District 12: Mara Candelaria Reardon (D) (I)
District 14: Vernon Smith (D) (I)
District 15: Jim Wieser (D)
District 16: Rich Ludington (D)
District 19: Shelli VanDenburgh (D) (I)
District 21: Jodi Buoscio (D)
District 27: Sheila Klinker (D) (I)
District 29: Joseph Marcum (D)
District 30: Chuck Sosbe (D)
District 32: Bob Ashley (D)
District 33: Shon Byrum (D)
District 34: Sue Errington (D) (I)
District 35: Melanie Wright (D)
District 36: Terri Austin (D) (I)
District 39: David Russ (D)
District 42: Mark Spelbring (D)
District 43: Clyde Kersey (D) (I)
District 45: Bionca Gambill (D) (I)
District 46: Jim Mann (D)
District 52: Charlie Odier (D)
District 55: Glenn Bailey (D)
District 56: Phillip Pflum (D)
District 59: Zach Ellison (D)
District 60: Damon Brodhacker (D)
District 61: Matt Pierce (D) (I)
District 62: Jeff Sparks (D)
District 66: Terry Goodin (D) (I)
District 68: Rick Gill (D)
District 70: Heidi Sellers (D)
District 71: Steven Stemler (D) (I)
District 72: Kevin Sue Bailey (D)
District 73: Douglas Leatherbury (D)
District 74: Chris Coyle (D)
District 75: Ron Bacon (R) (I)
District 76: Tony Goben (D)
District 77: Gail Riecken (D) (I)
District 78: Stephen Melcher (D)
District 80: Phil GiaQuinta (D) (I)
District 82: Mike Wilber (D)
District 84: Fred Haigh (D)
District 86: Ed DeLaney (D) (I)
District 87: Christina Hale (D) (I)
District 89: Debra Jenkins (D)
District 91: Patrick Lockhart (D)
District 92: Karlee Macer (D) (I)
District 93: Ryan Guillory (D)
District 94: Cherrish Pryor (D) (I)
District 95: John Bartlett (D) (I)
District 96: Gregory Porter (D) (I)
District 97: Justin Moed (D) (I)
District 98: Robin Shackleford (D) (I)
District 99: Vanessa Summers (D) (I)
District 100: Dan Forestal (D) (I)

(D = Democrat/ R = Republican/ I = Incumbent)

“We are proud to offer these endorsements and will do everything we can to help get these worker-friendly candidates elected to office,” said Brett Voorhies, Indiana State AFL-CIO president.

Additional endorsements of candidates slated in caucuses before June 30, 2014 may be made at a later date.

The Indiana State AFL-CIO (American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations) is a federation of 800 local unions across the state belonging to 50 International Unions. In total, the Indiana State AFL-CIO represents more than 300,000 working Hoosiers.

For more information on please visit or call 1-800-433-8423.