Caucus for County Council District 1


The Monroe County Democratic Party will hold a caucus on Saturday Jan 26, 2013 at 2 pm in the Monroe County Courthouse, Nat U. Hill Meeting Room for the purpose of filling the position of Monroe County Councilor District 1 vacated by Vic Kelson.

Candidates for this office must be eligible to be a candidate for County Council District 1 (old boundary).  Candidates must have filed form CEB-5 with the Caucus Chair, Rick Dietz, 72 hours before the caucus – by 2PM on Wednesday Jan 23, 2013. At 2pm today the deadline passed for candidates to file for this caucus.  As of the filing deadline, 4 candidates filed and they are…

  • Lindsay A. Shipps
  • Anthony A. Smith
  • John Willard Tilford
  • Shelli Yoder

This caucus for District 1 County Council is unique. It will be a caucus of the new (post 2010 census) precincts that lay within or overlapping old (pre 2010 census) Council District 1 boundaries.  This includes the following current/new precincts:

  • Benton 1, 2
  • Bloomington 8, 9, 10, 21
  • Perry 4,9,10,11,12,13,14,16,17,18,19,20,21,22,23,24,26,28,31,32
  • Salt Creek

All (old) Council District 1 Monroe County Democratic Party precinct committee persons are eligible to vote in the Council election. Vice precinct committeepersons shall be eligible to vote if they are carrying a proxy for their committeeperson in accordance with Indiana Democratic Party Rules.  

The Caucus is open to all Democrats, but only (old) District 1 precinct chairs or their authorized proxy may vote.

Any questions about this caucus can be addressed to me at [email protected] or at 812-671-0076.


Rick Dietz, Chair
Monroe County Democratic Party
Caucus Chair