Bloomington Municipal Primary Winners

Congratulations to Bloomington's Newly Nominated Democratic Candidates!!!

Below is the list of Democratic candidates who won their races in May 7th's Bloomington-wide primary municipal elections. They will all advance to the general election this fall.

John Hamilton, Mayor

Nicole Bolden, City Clerk

Kate Rosenbarger, City Council District 1

Sue Sgambelluri, City Council District 2

Ron Smith, City Council District 3

Dave Rollo, City Council District 4

Isabel Piedmont-Smith, City Council District 5

Steve Volan, City Council District 6

Susan Sandberg, City Council At-large

Jim Sims, City Council At-large

Matt Flaherty, City Council At-large

We congratulate these candidates, and we wish to thank every candidate who ran for making this an informative, issues-based election.


Looking forward to the General Election...

At this point, Sue Sgambelluri in City Council District 2 is the only candidate to face a Republican challenge this fall in Andrew Gunther. The Monroe County Republican Party still has until June 30th to field challengers in the other races. Our Democratic candidates may also face Independent challengers, and we will keep you updated on the status of those races as we learn more about them. Turnout was only about 10% of registered voters this Primary, and we know that a civically-minded city like Bloomington can do better!